Nilamani Art and Divine Poetry of the Indian Seers

The Absolute

No mind, no form, I only exist;
Now ceased all will and thought;
The final end of Nature’s dance,
I am it whom I have sought.

A realm of Bliss bare, ultimate;
Beyond both knower and known;
A rest immense I enjoy at last;
I face the One alone.

Sri Chinmoy

This is the art of Nilamani, a Russian artist living in Vashist in India.  I came across these images displayed in Dylan’s Cafe, Manali.  I was instantly moved by these psychedelic images of beautiful Hindu Gods and Goddesses dancing and reclining in magical, cosmic dimensions.

They seemed to resonate with the spaces and colours I was moving in and amongst, up there in the beautiful mountains of Mother India, where Shiva was said to wander and practice hashish induced meditations.

I bought several small postcards at Dylan’s they have been with me ever since (you can buy them online, but the website is in Russian), every time I look into them I am transported to that altered space, which is ever close and yet beyond comprehension; that blissful union residing in a fleeting silent dream carried upon the tides of the universe, flowing effortlessly within and without us all……………..

Dancing Ganesha

The divine love of the heart
Can only be felt.
It cannot be revealed,
It cannot be seen.

 Sri Chinmoy

Saraswati and Brahma

Nirvana

Only the illimitable Permanent
Is here. A Peace stupendous, featureless, still.
Replaces all, – what once was I, in It
A silent unnamed emptiness content
Either to fade in the Unknowable
Or thrill with the luminous seas of the Infinite.

 Sri Aurobindo

Kali

O My Mind

O my mind,
Worship the lotus feet of the Indestructible One!
Whatever thou seest twixt earth and sky
Will perish.

Why undertake fasts and pilgrimages?
Why engage in philosophical discussions?
Why commit suicide in Banaras?
Take no pride in the body,
It will soon be mingling with the dust.

 Mirabai

Shiva

A Country Fair

Drive me out of my mind, O Mother!
What use is esoteric knowledge
Or philosophical knowledge
Transport me totally with the burning wine
Of your all-embracing love.
Mother of mystery, who imbues with mystery
The hearts of those who love you,
Immerse me irretrievably
In the stormy ocean without boundary,
Pure love, pure love, pure love.

 Ramprasad Sen

Prabuddha

Asato ma sad gamaya.
Tamaso ma jyotir gamaya.
Mrtyor ma amrtam gamaya.

Lead me from the unreal to the Real.
Lead me from darkness unto Light.
Lead me from death to Immortality

Upanishads

Dream of Vishnu

From Delight we came into existence.
In Delight we grow.
At the end of our journey’s close,
Into Delight we retire.

Upanishads

Divine love is the expansion of our consciousness. The very nature of divine love is to expand, expand, expand and become one with all that it touches. The more we expand ourselves, the sooner we feel the Universal Consciousness as our very own. And when we feel the Universal Consciousness as our very own, at that time we become the Universal Self.

 “Excerpt from: The Inner Hunger by Sri Chinmoy

Poetry taken from the wonderful site Poet Seers.

Aum Namah Shivaya

The TurtleXXXXX

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Hanuman Dass said,

    This artwork is intoxicating! Thank you for sharing!

    HD

  2. 3

    bneal817 said,

    Wow… truly divine images, and excellent choice of poetry to accompany the paintings as well.

    Om Shanti

  3. 5

    Incredible art, such detail and rich colours, I can understand you getting lost in them.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

