An end to blogging?

no

blog?

I enjoy sharing words, pictures and music on my blog. It has become an enjoyable hobby and I have met a wonderful group of people, from all over the world, through it.

Blogging seems to buck the trend of internet relations and behavior, to write a blog takes time and effort and normally a degree of passion and talent that your average tweet or facebook entry cannot come near to matching.  To blog is to share real thoughts, talent and emotions (I hope!) with a global community of like-minded individuals.  I feel very privileged when I read the words of great poets, writers, cooks etc, via their blogs.  It is so immediate and fresh.  It shows a sense of openness and honesty that is far too rare in the modern world.

All this is a brilliant, but I was thinking last night, what happens next?  I looked at my archive and realised that the months are adding up.  Time is passing quickly.  How long can the world of blogging go on for? I felt apprehensive that all of this could fade and turn out to be just a fad, even though I feel the cyber roots and connections made in blog world run deeper than most.  After all, we could always revert to writing letters to one another.

Realistically, my blogs could be with me for many years, shadowing my life experiences and influences. What an incredible memento.  A contemporary photo album, but with greater depth, set to music and poetry.

I have a creeping fear that this may not be the case, reflecting my general mistrust in technology.  What happens if wordpress ceases to exist?  Or the internet crashes etcetc.  In light of this, does anybody know how to save and print a blog?  I am not too worried about my internet banking (although having my few pennies disappear into a virtual black hole would be a pain), but to lose my blog would be to lose something that has real sentimental value.

Without my blogs, I would get by.  Maybe spend more time in the garden or reading books.  It would not be the end of the world, but the internet would certainly seem a poorer place.

I hope that the word of blogging goes from strength to strength and when I’m older and greyer, I can look back through the pages and comments and remember a life well distracted from the mundane, typing posts about the pineal gland, when I should have been doing something far more constructive.  In that sense alone, thank you blogs for keeping me grounded and focused on the important things.

What do you think the future of blogging will look like?

Have you managed to print a blog?

10 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I feel exactly the same and I’m sure many others do too. Maybe WordPress should have a blog2PDF Archive tool that keeps your layout intact etc. Great post, hopefully they’re listening, or someone with “startup” $s is…

    • 2

      leroywatson4 said,

      I hope so, it would be great to have a hard copy of all these words. It will soon amass to a large document and I’d love to have it printed out. You can’t beat reading from paper, screens seem so hollow. Thanks for the reply. Happy blogging.

  2. 3

    100% agree with you. I tend to look at the blog as a legacy of words that I’m leaving behind for my kids, too. It’s wonderfully therapeutic, as well. To express all that is within you, FREELY-essentially, having discussions with individuals all over the globe. Thank you for sharing yourself, and thank you for the follow(s). It’s great to meet you. Make yourself at home anytime 😀

    • 4

      leroywatson4 said,

      Great to meet you too. I love the world of blogging for this very reason, individuals who share freely and openly with the world. Opening their hearts, sharing their talent. What an amazing place! I look forward to reading more of your ‘legacy’. Peace and Light.

  3. 5

    I can’t figure a way to print with my wordpress theme and layout, Just the text and photos will print. That’s better than nothing , but not nearly as much fun as what it looks like on the screen!

  4. 7

    I found a few free ways to print and PDF a blog/ try http://www.printfriendly.com/button to add a PrintFriendly button to each post or look at the WordPress FAQ page: http://onecoolsitebloggingtips.com/2010/08/03/bloggers-publish-your-book-ebook-or-your-blog/

  5. 9

    All things are impermanent. Every breath is impermanent. Every structure is impermanent. Every mountain is impermanent. But, it does not follow that what is impermanent is not worth pursuing. Wonderful blog–thank you so much for sharing your images and ideas with the world.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

