Sri Hanuman Chalisa/ The Gates of Sweet Nectar – Krishna Das

Lord Hanuman – The epitome of bravery, loyalty, the warrior spirit….the original superhero!

“Calling out to hungry hearts

Everywhere through endless time,

You who wander, you who thirst,

I offer you this heart (bodhi) of mine.

Calling out to hungry spirits,

Everywhere through endless time,

Calling out to hungry hearts

All the lost and the left behind,

Gather round and share this meal,

Your joy and your sorrow

I make them mine.”

The Gates of Sweet Nectar – Sacred Zen Buddhist Invocation

This album by Krishna Das and particularly this song; became my soundtrack and mantra for my wanderings in the high Himalayas of India, particularly the words to ‘The Gates of Sweet Nectar’.  When I listen to this now, I am immediately carried to a magical time filled with mysticism, joy and inner discovery.

The ‘Sri Hanuman Chalisa’ is a hymn to Hanuman, the monkey God, who represents the strength to overcome all obstructions.  Joined with ‘The Gates of Sweet Nectar’, they become a powerful invocation to cleanse the mirror of our hearts and discover the power and strength that lies within us all.

Sri Hanuman Chalisa

Shree Guru charana saroja raja nija manu mukuru sudhari
Taking the dust of my Guru’s lotus feet to polish the mirror of my heart

Baranaun Raghubara bimala jasu jo daayaku phala chaari
I sing the pure fame of the best of Raghus, which bestows the four fruits of life.

Buddhi heena tanu jaanike sumiraun pawana kumaara
I don’t know anything, so I remember you, Son of the Wind

Bala budhi vidyaa dehu mohin harahu kalesa bikaara
Grant me strength, intelligence and wisdom and remove my impurities and sorrows

Krishna Das sings with Tetsugen Bernard Glassman, founder of the Zen Peacemakers and an American Zen Buddhist Roshi.  Here he explains the Chalisa and the Gates of Sweet Nectar.

Our ultimate goal is to open our heart”

Here Krishna Das sings to the hindu saint Anandamayi Ma.

Namaste and LightXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    awesome piece of information, I had come to know about your website from my friend vinod, indore,i have read atleast seven posts of yours by now, and let me tell you, your blog gives the best and the most interesting information. This is just the kind of information that i had been looking for, i’m already your rss reader now and i would regularly watch out for the new posts, once again hats off to you! Thanks a ton once again, Regards,
    Hanuman Chalisa

  2. 4

    Andrea Leber said,

    Learning the Hanuman Chaleesa by heart has been one of the most rewarding things I’ve ever done. I was lucky enough to be able to attend a workshop with Nina Rao as an intro, but it still took me about a year to learn it! Wonderful blog, by the way!
    Namaste,
    Andrea

    • 5

      leroywatson4 said,

      Singing is wonderful! For some reason, these Hindu chants really get me going. They lighten the material loads that I carry and bring me closer to the source of love and light. Chanting is essential in what you could call my ‘spiritual’ practice, singing like a loon and sitting like a tree seem to compliment each other perfectly and set the tone for insight and serenity. Namaste, lee

      • 6

        Icarus said,

        You should also listen to MS Subbulakshmi recitation of Shri Hanuman Chalisa. While Shri Krishna Das version is so calm and peaceful , Subbalakshmi version is powerful its like fighting against all odds, all bad things.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

