Do you want to be the creator or the victim? – An evening with Ram Dass

“Let’s trade in all our judging for appreciating. Let’s lay down our righteousness and just be together.”

“Treat everyone you meet like God in drag.”

“The spiritual journey is individual, highly personal. It can’t be organized or regulated. It isn’t true that everyone should follow one path. Listen to your own truth.”

“What you meet in another being is the projection of your own level of evolution.”

“If you think you’re free, there’s no escape possible.”

Worth a watch just for the crochet story alone…….

“We’re all just walking each other home.”

“It is important to expect nothing, to take every experience, including the negative ones, as merely steps on the path, and to proceed.”

“The heart surrenders everything to the moment. The mind judges and holds back.”

“In most of our human relationships, we spend much of our time reassuring one another that our costumes of identity are on straight.”

“As long as you have certain desires about how it ought to be you can’t see how it is.”

“Be here now.”

Ram Dass

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Thanks for pulling these quotes, Leroy–they’re a tasty preview of the whole video, which I’ll watch later. I especially love the first two and the third-to-last. I’m taking these to heart.

  2. 3

    I am reserving some time this evening when I can watch this is full Thanks for posting!

    • 4

      leroywatson4 said,

      Hope you get the chance, its a wonderful talk with plenty of laughs. Such a nice fellow! Peace

      • 5

        Just finished watching! What a great experience!. There were so many things that were familiar to me. I have been giving to SEVA for years and never knew the story of its origin. That was cool!

        I also have been taking care of my mother-in-law for the past 4 years with dementia. So many things he was saying about taking care of his father I could really relate to and it brought a whole new meaning to what I am experiencing.

        Thanks so much for posting! I feel a new sense of knowledge and peace.

      • 6

        leroywatson4 said,

        Apologise for the late response oh Savvy one! I’ve been busy in other areas of this great existence and had little time to tame and float with the mighty green turtle!!!!!! I am so glad that you found Ram Dass an inspiration, I love this talk, it seems to grow and emanate naturally and from a source of truth. Service is essential, but tough, as it seems are most of life’s great lessons. If things are hard, I know Im growing and this perspective is such a blessing. The wonderful thing is we are all here (now, as Ram Dass reminds us) and going through the same motions, all actors in a truly tragic and wonderful performance. I find it constantly inspiring to be sharing it with people like you and Baba Ram Dass. Take it easy, with love, leex


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

